The Office of Public Works
The Casino was designed by Sir William Chambers in the late eighteenth-century as a pleasure house for James Caulfeild, 1st Earl of Charlemont. It is widely acknowledged as the most important example of neoclassical architecture in Ireland.
One of only a handful of buildings in Ireland designed by Chambers, the most celebrated architect of his time, the Casino is full of architectural tricks, devices, and secrets. Although it looks like a one-room Greek temple from the outside, there are actually three floors and sixteen beautiful rooms hidden inside. The Casino is the last remaining building of Lord Charlemont’s once-spectacular demesne at Marino in Dublin which, until the late nineteenth century, extended from modern-day Collins Avenue south to Marino Mart in Fairview. The story of the demesne and the Casino itself is told through maps, models, images, and letters on display throughout the building. Tours of the building are available from March to October daily. The Casino is operated and managed by the Office of Public Works.
There are steep drops around the exterior of the building. Children must be strictly supervised at all times.
Tours of Casino will resume on 16th March 2017. To contact us for bookings/information click here.
Award Recognition for our 1916 Commemorative Event!
The Heritage Council’s Reaching Out Award was awarded to event organisers on the 22nd of February 2017 to those who reached out to new audiences and helped more people enjoy Heritage Week in 2016.
Read about the relatives’ reunion event we held on the lawn of the Casino last summer, and how we recreated a historic photograph with them, on our news blog here.
Tunnel Vision: Going Underground at the Casino Marino
This new exhibition at the Casino Marino tells the intriguing story of the vaults and tunnels in the outside basement of the building. From 13th April 2017, Thursday to Sundays inclusive, visitors can explore the long tunnel as part of the regular fee paying guided tour, and see how the Thompson machine guns were fired there in 1921. Entry restrictions can apply due to weather/operational conditions. Read more here.